Frequently Asked Questions
Get answers to some of our most frequently asked questions.
Simply click on one of the questions below to view the answer.
Q: Where can I find NECCO® candies?
Many of our candies are available through our online store here: www.MyNecco.com
Plus, NECCO®'s product line, including seasonal products, is available to all distributors and retailers. Be aware, though, shelf-space in stores is limited, and store managers and corporate buying offices determine which items to stock based on consumer demand. You may want to ask your local store manager if he or she is able to stock the product that you are interested in. Also, keep in mind that some NECCO® products are seasonal and are not available year 'round.
We do not sell our products at wholesale prices directly to consumers, but if this is what you are interested in, a candy distributor in your area may be able to help. Check the Yellow Pages of your local telephone directory for a "Candy/Confectionery or Wholesale Distributor" near you.
Q: Which NECCO® products are Gluten Free?
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley:
NECCO® Chocolate Wafers
Candy House Candy Buttons®
Canada® Mint, Wintergreen & Spearmint Lozenges
Banana Splits® Chews
Mint Julep® Chews
Haviland® Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars
Sweethearts® (Valentine's only)
NECCO® Conversation Hearts (Valentine's only)
Mary Jane® Peanut Butter Kisses (Halloween only)
Q: Are NECCO® products kosher?
NECCO® products carrying the KVH-D or KD symbol are certified Kosher and Dairy under the Orthodox supervision of the Vaad Harabonim of New England.
Q: Do you have a company store?
Our Candy Shoppe is now CLOSED at our factory location, however we do offer online sales of our products at our online webstore www.neccostore.com.
Q: Is it possible to go on a factory tour?
Since NECCO® is a FDA regulated food plant and due to insurance constraints, we are unable to provide factory tours.
Q: What are the original eight flavors in a NECCO® Wafers Roll?
The original eight flavors: orange, lemon, lime, clove, chocolate, cinnamon, licorice and wintergreen. The ingredients are simply sugar, corn syrup, gelatin, gum, colorings and flavoring.
Q: How is the assortment of NECCO® Wafers in a package determined?
Six hundred-pound batches of each wafer flavor are made. The wafers are then mixed together and packaged. While we make about equal quantities of each flavor, the reason some rolls have more or less of each flavor is that the assorting process is random. Trays of candies containing two or more colors are put in bins. They are added in rotation so that each color combination is represented, and then they start the cycle over again. As the candies move to the wrapping machines, they are mixed a little more. There are thousands of pieces of candy sliding into the wrapping machines and the pieces that go into any roll is dependent upon which pieces are next in line. This also applies to Jr. NECCO® Wafers.
Q: Can I purchase a package with just one flavor of NECCO® Wafers or Sweethearts®?
Unfortunately at this time we do not package single flavors of NECCO® Wafers. We do not package individual Sweethearts® flavors other than Chocolate.
NECCO® Wafers, Sweethearts®
Q: Can I suggest sayings for your Sweethearts®?
Each year we add a few new sayings to our Sweethearts®. We are happy to accept suggestions for sayings from our consumers. Each saying can be no longer than two lines of four letters on the small hearts and two lines of six letters on the large motto hearts. You can either e-mail your suggestion or mail it to Sweethearts, NECCO, 135 American Legion Highway, Revere, MA 02151.
Please understand that we will not be able to use every submission. Each suggestion becomes property of New England Confectionery Company. As the same idea may be generated by a number of people, both internally and externally, we will not be able to credit any phrase to a specific person.
Q: What is NECCO®'s policy regarding suggestions and idea submissions?
NECCO® does not solicit, nor can we pay for, new product suggestions. All suggestions or idea submissions sent to NECCO®
shall remain the property of NECCO®.
(View all answers).
Q: How do I request a candy donation?
If you are requesting a product donation (we do not accept letters for cash sponsorship) from New England Confectionery Company, you must send a letter via US Mail at least 1 month ahead of your event date. This letter must be on your organization's letterhead and include the following:
Date of Event
Amount of People Attending
Tax Exempt ID #
Contact Phone Number
Shipping Address (No PO Boxes)
Upon receipt, your request will be reviewed by the Donation Committee. If accepted, a shipment will be made and should be received at least one-week prior to your event. Send any correspondence to:
135 American Legion Highway
Revere, MA 02151-2405